More news about Yale people

Michael Marsland

Michael Marsland

View full image


Four Yale faculty members have been named Sterling Professors, the university’s highest faculty honor. They are sociologist and physician Nicholas Christakis ’84 (left), biologist Anna Marie Pyle, computer scientist Daniel Spielman ’92, and English professor Ruth Bernard Yeazell ’71PhD.

John Bollier has been appointed vice president for facilities and campus development, taking on part of the portfolio of retiring vice president Bruce Alexander ’65. A licensed architect, Bollier has worked in facilities operations at Yale since 1992.

Larry Gladney, a physics professor at the University of Pennsylvania, will come to Yale in January as dean of diversity and faculty development for the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Gladney will also join the faculty as a professor in the physics department.


In November, the Association of Yale Alumni will present the Yale Medal to five alumni for service to the university: former Day of Service chair Lise Pfeiffer chapman ’81MBA, football supporter Gregory J. Hall ’77, School of Management fund-raiser Bo Hopkins ’86MBA, former trustee Margaret Marshall ’76JD, and volunteer leader Sheryl Carter Negash ’82.

Eight writers have been chosen for this year’s Windham-Campbell Prize, a $165,000 award administered by the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. Winners in nonfiction are Sarah Bakewell and Olivia Laing, both of the United Kingdom; in poetry, Lorna Goodison (Canada/Jamaica) and Cathy Park Hong (US); in drama, Lucas Hnath and Suzan-Lori Parks (both US); in fiction, John Keene (US) and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda/UK). They will receive their awards at a September event in New Haven.

Stepping down

Eileen O’Connor, who has served as Yale’s vice president for communications since 2016, resigned this summer to return to practicing law. In an e-mail to the Yale community, President Peter Salovey ’86PhD said that O’Connor had “strengthened alumni communications in multiple ways.”

The comment period has expired.